The 2022 World Press Photo Contest now open for entries

The 2022 World Press Photo Contest is now open for submissions until 11 January 2022. Entering the World Press Photo Contest is free and open to all professional photographers working in the field of photojournalism and/or documentary photography. 

The 2022 Contest has adopted a new regional approach and will work with a regional system that includes six regions. Winners of this year's contest have a chance to win €1,000 as a regional winner and an additional €5,000 as a global winner, as well as to have their work showcased to a global audience through the annual World Press Photo Exhibition travelling to over 80 countries and global media outreach and exposure on social channels with over 2 million followers. All information on the prize package can be found here.

Format-based categories

This year entrants can submit their work to four format-based categories. These format-based categories encompass all thematic categories from previous contests – such as general news, spot news, contemporary issues, environment, nature, sports, portraits – therefore entries on a wide range of themes may be submitted to the appropriate format-based category: Singles, Stories, Long-Term Projects and Open Format. Open Format is a new category that welcomes a range and/or mixture of storytelling mediums in which the main visual content is still photography. All information on the new categories can be found here.

Judging in the new regional set-up

An independent jury selects the prize-winning photographs and productions. In each region, a selection of entries per category will be chosen by a regional jury. Once the regional juries have made their selection, a global jury will decide on the regional winners and from those, the global winners. The global jury will be composed of the six regional jury chairs and one additional member. All information on the new judging process can be found here.

Important dates

Entries open: 1 December 2021, 12.00 (noon) CET

Entries close: 11 January 2022, 12.00 (noon) CET

Regional winners announcement: 24 March 2022

Global winners announcement: 7 April 2022

Flagship World Press Photo Exhibition 2022 in Amsterdam: opening 16 April 202

World Press Photo Foundation is a global platform connecting photojournalists, documentary photographers and our worldwide audiences through trustworthy storytelling.

World Press Photo was founded in 1955 when a group of Dutch photographers organized a contest (“World Press Photo”) to expose their work to an international audience. Since then, the mission has expanded. The contests have grown into one of the world’s most prestigious competitions, rewarding the best in photojournalism and documentary photography. Through the successful worldwide exhibition program, they present to millions of people the stories that matter.

The World Press Photo Foundation is a creative, independent, nonprofit organization, based in Amsterdam, the Netherlands. They appreciate the support of their global partner, the Dutch Postcode Lottery, and the partners Aegon and PwC.

For more information

Find all information on how to enter and all aspects of the new regional set-up of the 2022 Contest here.

Why these six regions?

These regions were chosen for a number of key reasons:

Diversity: Having six regions allows us to present a greater range of stories and therefore holds the opportunity for more global representation amongst the entrants and winners.

Geographic: This model is closest to the division of continents in the world. It is based on the classification of countries and regions according to the UN M49 standard.

Tried and tested: This division has already been used in the 6x6 Global Talent Program, Joop Swart Masterclass and the jury selection, and worked well in those contexts.

TAGREE, I love the cultural work you do, I donate to show you my sincere appreciation:

or become a reader with a TAGREEplus+Pass for unlimted access

Don`t copy text!